Shield of dreams for Berkhamsted Cycling Club

First for sports news
First for sports news
Have your say

Berkhamsted Cycling Club riders claimed their first piece of silverware as they tore up the form book to pip Hemel Hempstead and St Albans to victory at the Harp Hilly Hundred.

For the last decade or so, the esteemed reliability ride has been a straight shoot-out between Hemel and St Albans, but it was Berkhamsted who took the honours this time in their inaugural mass participation event.

Berkhamsted Cycling Club raced to victory at the Harp Hilly Hundred

Berkhamsted Cycling Club raced to victory at the Harp Hilly Hundred

The race has been run since 1954 and consists of tackling all the major hills in the area over a 100-km course.

The major trophy for the event is a shield which is awarded to the club with the largest number of finishers; the challenge is completing the event at this inhospitable time of year.

Under the sterling leadership of the club’s performance co-ordinator, Nick Clarke, Berkhamsted Cycling Club took the award by some margin, with an impressive 38 finishers.

Club spokesman Wendy Pearson said: “This was a great effort by the club’s members and speaks volumes about their determination.”

Top results for the club came from: Michael Blastland, 03:45 - fastest male BCC rider; Keith Tucker, 03:51; Matty Earles, 03:53; Chris West, 03:55; Nick Darvell, 03:56; Melinda Atkinson, 03:57 - fastest female rider overall