The Little Hay ladies retain their title in emphatic style

The Little Hay ladies finished first and second in the Mary Forster Bowl competition
The Little Hay ladies finished first and second in the Mary Forster Bowl competition
Have your say

The Little Hay ladies swept the board when they came out top for the second year running in a National Association of Public Golf Courses tournament.

This year not only did they retain the Mary Forster Bowl, but Little Hay’s second team were also runners-up.

The Mary Forster Bowl is a tournament for teams of three ladies and involved a preliminary group stage between 30 teams from across the country, followed by a grand final played by the top six teams at Abbey Hill Golf Club near Milton Keynes.

Both of the Little Hay teams made it through to the final by winning their group stages.

Winners of the Trophy with the aggregate score of 99 Stableford points were Dorcas Kindinger (captain), Clare Stammeijer and Pauline Manning.

Runners-up with 96 points were Jacky Pearson (captain), Elaine Meagher and Linda Reeve. Chris Marsden, Carol Kent and Linda Cusick had also played in the teams during the group stage.

The ladies also had a success in a friendly match played at home against Harpenden Common, winning by 3 games to 1.

Meanwhile, 17 new members joined in a welcome event at Little Hay.

They met club captain Mick Whelan and past captains Martin Evans and Tony Alford and played 18 holes in order to get familiar with the course.

The best score of the day was a net 69 carded by John Murphy.

Elsewhere, in fine weather, Division One of the Men’s May Medal was won by Ant Monger with a net 70 ahead of Paul Williams, Chris Venner and Ashley Wade, all with 71.

Division Two was won by David Smith (69) followed by Phil Joslin (70) and Ricardo Romita (71)

In the Ladies’ May Medal, the best score of the day was by junior player Emma Shepherd with net 67.

The best adult score was made by Caroline Banks (71) followed by Trish Joslin (72).