Best businesses get a chance to take a bow

They’re off! The search for the best businesses across Hertfordshire has hit the ground running.

Companies across Dacorum have been challenged to show the rest of the county how good they are by entering the easy-to-enter Federation of Small Businesses (FSB) Hertfordshire Business Awards.

The contest is for all small businesses, not just members of the FSB.

Herts FSB chairman Pam Charman said: “These awards are a challenge to those great businesses in Dacorum to prove how good they are.

“We urge them to put their heads above the parapet and get noticed.

“We expect there will be friendly rivalry from across the boroughs, towns, city and districts to win the accolades in this free-to-enter contest.

“The Herts branch of the FSB is the biggest in the country with 3,000 members. This is an excellent chance for them to put their case for glory in front of our independent panel of judges.”

Awards organiser Damian Cummins said: “Our awards remain free to enter and are easier to enter than ever.

“We’ve streamlined the whole entry process this year, adding helpful hints to our entry forms to help busy entrepreneurs make the best entries possible.

“For small businesses looking to market their goods and services to a county audience, it could be the most effective marketing exercise you’ve done this year. Awards are also a fantastic networking opportunity.”

The awards are open to any sole trader or company employing up to 250 employees in Hertfordshire.

Categories include Dacorum Business of the Year, sponsored by Dacorum Borough Council.

Entrants can go for glory in up to three different categories, with the general ones being Best New Business, Employee of the Year, Business Person of the Year, the Training & Development Award, Young Business Person of the Year, the Business Innovation Award, the Green Business Award, Service Excellence Award, Real Life Entrepreneur, Retailer of the Year and Community Business of the Year.

From all these award winners will emerge the overall county winner.

To find out more and to enter, visit

Entries must be received by April 24.