Five to stand for election

editorial image

The list of candidates standing in a council by-election has been released.

The poll will be held on Thursday, June 13, for the Berkhamsted East ward previously represented by Liberal Democrat John Lythgoe, who recently died aged 81. He had represented the area since 1999.

The only Lib Dem left on Berkhamsted Town Council, which was once dominated by the party, is Garrick Stevens. He is one of four councillors who now represent the East ward of the town. A fifth will join them after the by-election.

The candidates to replace Mr Lythgoe are Julian Ashbourn for the Conservatives, Danny Bonnett for the Lib Dems, Amy Charles for UKIP, Paul De Hoest for the Green Party and Peter Scott for Labour.