Liberal Democrats hold their seat in Berkhamsted by-election

editorial image

Liberal Democrats have held their seat in Berkhamsted’s East ward following a by-election to replace the late John Lythgoe.

The turn out for the poll on Thursday was 24.7 per cent.

Lib Dem candidate Danny Bonnett secured 456 votes and coming in second with 315 backers was Conservative candidate Julian Ashbourn.

Amy Charles for UKIP pulled in 184 votes, Labour’s Peter Scott got 92 votes and the Green Party’s Paul De Hoest secured 75 votes.

Before his death Mr Lythgoe had represented the area on Berkhamsted Town Council since 1999.