Meet the winners: Pride In Dacorum gallery and roll of honour

Dacorum was bursting with pride on Thursday evening as unsung community heroes gathered for a richly-deserved pat on the back.

Winners of the annual Pride In Dacorum awards were nominated by their peers in a range of categories including Unsung Hero, Fundraiser Of The Year and Young Achiever.

Pride In Dacorum Awards

Pride In Dacorum Awards

The awards at Aspley’s Shendish Manor were hosted by EastEnders favourite Nitin Ganatra.

The proud winners on the night were:

CARE IN THE COMMUNITY sponsored by Home Instead

Roger Puddifoot, for his efforts as a blood donor, with St John Ambulance, Age Concern, Reachout Plus and other good causes.

Highly commended: John Framp, for 50 years a volunteer bingo caller at Warners End community centre.

Finalists: Barbara Reynolds-Sale, Barry Child, Bud Windeler, Christine & Eddie Hodgson, Grace Masters, John Priestley, Ken Dickson, Lee Herring

SERVICE WITH A SMILE sponsored by Discount Tyre & Exhaust Centre

Catering staff and volunteers at the Hospice Of St Francis, who have established a national reputation for their pioneering work

Highly commended: Barbara Reynolds-Sale, who has given more than 6,500 hours of volunteer effort to the local community

Finalists: Beechwood Fine Foods, DENS retail team, Elle Terry-Dawson, Park Resorts, Peter Borg-Neal, Sandie Taylor, Tring Brewery Company

YOUNG ACHIEVER sponsored by West Herts College

Grace Masters, for her passionate pursuit of a campaign to raise awareness of the plight of those affected by human trafficking

Highly commended: sports star Ella Beaumont

Finalists: Archie Major, James Dodd, Jamie Hodgson, Kirsty Robinson, Max Whitlock, Olivia Furmston

INSPIRE A GENERATION sponsored by Barracudas Activity Day Camps

Matthew Loddy, for his marathon exploits in aid of the Teenage Cancer Trust and the Hospice Of St Francis

Highly commended: Young actress and playwright Charlotte Briant

Finalists: DENS retail team, Eddie Gaynor, Ella Beaumont, Elle Terry-Dawson, the Hodgson family, Jack Daw and Bud Windeler of Drive Safe Dacorum, Paul Dove, Olivia Furmston.

FRIENDLY NEIGHBOUR sponsored by Connect Property Services

The Corrigan family, for their unstinting kindness in small ways and in emergencies.

Highly commended: John Priestley

Finalists: Barry Child, Colin Garrett, John Framp, Ken Dickson, the Rising Sun pub.


Eddie Gaynor, head teacher of Astley Cooper School, Hemel Hempstead

Highly commended: Sandie Taylor of RES Kings Langley, for her pioneering work spreading the word about renewable energy

Finalists: Bud Windeler (Druglink), Bud Windeler and Jack Daw (Drive Safe Dacorum), Friends of Tring Church Heritage, Gary Lewis (Kings Langley School); Scott Martin (Adeyfield School), Giles Clark (Graham Greene Festival), Paul Dove (Billy’s Wish), Tring Dementia Friends.

RAISING THE PROFILE OF THE TOWN sponsored by West Herts Community Free Schools

Dean Brennan, manager of Hemel Hempstead Town FC

Highly commended: Sandie Taylor, RES Kings Langley

Finalists: Ben Moorhouse (Tringe Festival), Chris Taylor (Dacorum Borough Council), David Evans MBE (Grass Roots Group/Spirit of Tring), Gary Lewis (Kings Langley School), Giles Clark (Grahame Greene Festival), Lindy Foster-Weinreb (Castle Wharf Promotions/Dee TV), Peter Borg-Neal (Akeman Inns), Steve Butcher (Chilfest).

OUTSTANDING EXAMPLE OF BRAVERY sponsored by Dacorum Community Safety Partnership

Archie Major, aged six, for his calm response to a serious family emergency

Highly commended: Loren Goldenberg-Kosbab, who rescued a neighbour from a blazing flat

Finalists: Chloe Evans, Israr Ali, James Dodd, Jamie Hodgson, Olivia Furmston, Paul Dove, Team Macy

FUNDRAISER OF THE YEAR sponsored by Costa

Matthew Loddy, his second award of the night

Highly commended: Team Macy, a fundraising drive set up in memory of a baby girl who did not survive open heart surgery at just six weeks old

Finalists: DENS retail team, Elixzabeth Le-Chenal, Lee Herring, Paul Dove, Peter Borg-Neal, Team Natalie, the Stupid Peddlars

UNSUNG HERO sponsored by Beard Brothers

Israr Ali, whose awareness and diligence as a CCTV operator helped prevent a serious sexual assault and led to a man being jailed

Highly commended: Bud Windeler, for his years of service with the Druglink service.

Finalists: Barbara Reynolds-Sale, Barry Child, Bud Windeler and Jack Daw (Drive Safe), DENS retail team, John Framp, Team Macy.

Click here to see our video report from the night