Tory wins by-election after less than a quarter of the electorate turns up to vote


Tory candidate Julian Ashbourn has won the by-election to replace former mayor Ron Cowie on a turn-out of less than 25 per cent of the electorate.

A total of 4,653 people were eligible to vote in yesterday’s poll to decide who should represent Berkhamsted Town Council’s west ward.

But Mr Ashbourn secured the position – which he will share with four other politicians – with just 455 votes.

Lib Dem candidate Geraldine Corry – who like Mr Cowie is a former mayor of Berkhamsted – was the runner-up with 370 votes.

UKIP candidate Ian Johnston came third, securing 161 votes, leaving Labour’s Michael Bromberg trailing in fourth place with just 94 votes. The Green Party’s Paul de Hoest came last with 68 votes.

Just 24.9 per cent of the electorate turned up to vote in the by-election.

The ballot was called after Mr Cowie died aged 75 on New Year’s Day. He was a town councillor for Berkhamsted’s west ward at the time of his death and had previously led the town’s Chamber of Commerce for 20 years.

You can read more about Mr Cowie’s life by clicking here