A gutsy display from the Berkhamsted contingent

editorial image

Berkhamsted Sports Centre Swimming Club sent a mixed team of novice and more experienced swimmers to the Leighton Buzzard Level C gala at Tiddenfoot pool.

The final result – which saw Berkhamsted finish last – did not reflect a gutsy club performance which included 34 personal bests, 19 speeding tickets, 13 firsts, five seconds and four third places from 41 races.

There were wins on the night for Ben Bayer, Eva Ritchie, Hamish MacCaig, Emma Barnes, Olivia Gray, Adam Hawkswood, Tobey Spriggs, Zak Patel and Bryce Wiles.

Speeding tickets went to Lidia Niedertubessing-Lopez, Ben Holmes-Higgin, Owen Strakosch, Emily Hannaby, Ella Haas, Danny Ritchie, Ruby Sedgwick, Harriet Collinge, Charlie Gray, Tom Strakosch, Caitlin Kelley, Euan Donald and Abbie Brown.

Meanwhile, Amelie Baker, Hannah Davis, Eddie Duncombe, Dom Kelly, Ben Brown and Mark Strakosch bagged second places, and Mel Mullen, Regan Wiles, Holly Hannaby and Lottie Priestley took thirds.

In the freestyle relays, Holly Hannaby, Sedgwick, Ritchie and Barnes won the open, with Hannaby setting a two-second PB on her lead-off leg.

For the open men, Mark Strakosch, Tom Strakosch, Kelly and MacCaig gained another speeding ticket and Tom Strakosch set a PB on his lead-off leg.

Both the U12 relays resulted in speeding tickets for Priestley, Gray, Collinge and Niedertubessing-Lopez, along with Hawkswood, Brown, Bayer and Patel.

The U10 boys’ squad – Donald, Spriggs, Holmes-Higgin and Owen Strakosch – claimed their own team ticket, while Baker, Kelley, Davis and Wiles secured a well-earned victory for the girls.

The final two relays for the U14s saw two more speeding tickets, with Emily Hannaby, Haas, Mullen and Brown representing the girls, and Ritchie, Duncombe, Wiles and Gray swimming for the boys.

The last squadron relay resulted in another Berkhamsted victory to cap off an encouraging night for the club.