Dance dominates for table topping Crown & Sceptre

First for sports news
First for sports news

Hemel Hempstead Table Tennis League Division One leaders Crown & Sceptre I had a dominant James Dance to thank for an 8-2 victory over Flamstead A as he bagged yet another maximum.

Meanwhile, second placed Adeyfield I whitewashed Crown & Sceptre A 10-0 thanks to John Fox, Mark York and Mike Boardman.

St Michaels eventually beat Row 6-4 thanks to trebles from Martin Livesey and Vadym Krevs, while Angela Smith led Flamstead I to a 6-4 victory over Crown & Sceptre B as she hit a maximum.

In Division Two, Adeyfield A maintained their 100 per cent record with a comfortable 8-2 triumph over Crown & Sceptre C thanks to maximums from Les Leech and Martin Johnson.

Paul Rickard led Northchurch I to a narrow 6-4 victory over Crown C with a treble, while KLCC I had a thumping 9-1 success over Adeyfield B with Richard Ballard and Phil Hards taking the plaudits. However, KLCC then lost narrowly 6-4 to St Georges I for whom Jackie Channell won her three games.

McAlpines also had a 9-1 victory over Adeyfield B, thanks largely to the efforts of Chris Pedley and Wayne Howe.

Meanwhile, Northchurch A sprung a surprise in Division Three by beating table topping Highfield 7-3 as Dave Walker hit a maximum.

This enabled St Georges A to move to within two points of the leaders with an 8-2 victory over Crown & Sceptre D thanks in the main to a Gaton Broner maximum.

Crown D also lost 8-2 to Flamstead C as Phil Oswin and Dan Petherby both helped themselves to maximums.

Away from league action, the first round of the Wren Cup was completed without too many shocks.

The closest result was Crown & Sceptre B winning by 10 points against Division Three side KLCC A.

Division Two outfit McAlpines overcame Division One Flamstead I by 25 points, while Crown D (Division Three) beat Flamstead B (Division Two) by just 22 points.

Adeyfield I squeezed past Northwood I (Division Two) by 37 points, and other teams to win through to the second round were Crown & Sceptre I, Adeyfield B, KLCC I, St Michaels, Crown & Sceptre C, St Georges I and Row (bye).