Gadebridge juniors get feathers flying

Sportspace junior badminton tournament
Sportspace junior badminton tournament

The Gadebridge youngsters were on top form at this weekend’s junior badminton tournament at Sportspace.

Shaan Jivan, Cameron Bannister and Charlotte Clark all won gold medals – in the boys’ Year 10 and 11, boys’ Year 6 and 7, and girls’ Year 9 and 10 events, respectively.

Other winners on the day were Ellen Harding and Kristian Cookson, while the beaten finalists were Olivia Thompson, Kerry Harding, Vasanth Balla and Dominic Hammond

The Gadebridge juniors were then in action again, with Jivan captaining the A team in their 10-2 win over Wesnesday A.

Hammond, Benedict Holzmann, Max Ansell, Aatish Dave and Ellie Martell joined Jivan and won all of their singles matches.

Elsewhere, the Gadebridge B team picked up an 8-4 win over Gadebridge C, despite being a player short.

The B team consisted of Ellie Dibben, Daniel Martel, Katie Waller, Megan Gronow and Daniel Lewis.