St Thomas More School take the title

editorial image

THE St Thomas More School Year 6 netball team have been crowned Dacorum Primary and Middle School Netball Tournament champions after maintaining a 100 per cent record throughout the duration of the competition.

Schools from all over Dacorum gathered for the event, which was held at Adeyfield School, ensuring a fierce level of competition throughout the day

The St Thomas More team – consisting of Jennifer Horabin, Orla McDonnell-Pont, Ginny O’Callaghan, Becky Nolan, Jessica Morgan, Arabella Gallucci, Georgia Bennett, captain Molly Ross, Olivia Gray and Trixie Heath – were made to work hard for the title, but emerged victorious with an immaculate record of seven wins from their seven games.

Spurred on by lucky mascot Thomasina, the girls won all five of their qualifying matches, before holding their nerve to see off Boxmoor with a golden goal in the semi-finals.

They then produced an excellent display to take the trophy in style with a 4-0 win over Hobbs Hill A in the final.

The victory completes an impressive double for the St Thomas More girls, who also won the DPMS Netball League 3 this season.