Young guns firing for Berko in the Peanuts League

The Berkhamsted B team clinched an excellent second placed finish in Borehamwood
The Berkhamsted B team clinched an excellent second placed finish in Borehamwood

Youngsters at Berkhamsted Swimming Club made a promising start to the new Peanuts League campaign as they took to the pool for the first round of action.

The A team finished fourth in the Division One gala at Stevenage, while the B team exceeded all expectations with a marvellous second placed finish at Borehamwood in Division Three.

As always, the Berkhamsted squads swam excellently in the relays, with eight of their 13 wins coming in relays and both of the final squadrons romping home in second place.

The first win for the A team came from Tom Holmes-Higgin who was over a second clear in the 9 years butterfly, while James Corner prepared for his regional swim with victory in the 11 years free and Tamsin Moren took the 9 years breaststroke.

Individual wins for the B team went to Ben Holmes-Higgin in the 12 years free, and first timer David Graham who touched out first in the 10 years backstroke.

In the relay events, the boys provided the victories for both squads. Jamie Powell, Alex Davis, Marcus Donald and Tom Holmes-Higgin took the 9-year-old freestyle relay for the As, while Louis Armitage, Marley Maidment, Kieran Mallory and Corner swept everybody aside in both their 11-year-old free and medley relays. George Thorne, Callum Bullock, Ish Rahim and Harrison Bullock teamed up to take the 12 years free relay.

At the B gala, 10-year-olds Graham, Michael Joyce, Sam Baker and Ben Jones won both relays, wile Dan Chennells, Charlie Woodmansee, Danny Hoyes and Dan Stace teamed up to take the 11 years relay double.

PBs across the galas went to Meme Hancock, Matilda Verney-Kershaw, Imogen Crowther, Adam Francas, Lauren Collingwood, Tom Stoker, Anna Stelfox, Alex Farnham, Daisy Lang, David Graham, Dan Chennells, Ben Filer, Esme Anderton, Helena Martin, Euan Donald, Sophie Eastham, Adam Francas, Collingwood, Lara Coster, Tom Holmes-Higgin, Grace Payne, Ollie Benton, Ellie Matthews, Kieran Mallory, Amelie Baker, George Thorne, Lydia Wisely, Marcus Donald, James Boylan, Erin Pemberton, Essie Harrison, Moren, Alex Davis, Izzie MacDonald, Arthur Giles, Izzie Soulsby and Rahim.

For the B team, the final squadron of Farnham, Jamie Williamson, Elliss MacNab, Sam Baker, Stellfox, Danny Hoyes, Collingwood and Ben Holmes Higgin came through the field to steal a highly respectable second place and confirm second on the night.

The remainder of the squads comprised: Izzy Painter, Emma Walker, Roisin Clarke, Lara Coster, Jacob D’Cunha, Evie Watson, Zoe Kenney, Clemmie Holmes, Sophie Eastham, Conall Clarke and Maddie Morris.

Swim of the night awards went to: A team – Tamsin Moren and the 12 years boys relay teams; B team – Meme Hancock, David Graham & Tom Stoker.